Jasper Jottings —————————————- The achievement journal of my fellow alums

JHQ: Email solicitation for a “MC Directory” is legit

July 24, 2008 · 1 Comment

From: Ellen Kiernan, Director of Alumni Relations [mailto:alumnidirectory.Manhattan@publishingconcepts.com]
Sent: Wednesday, July 23, 2008 2:32 PM
To: Richard Ferrara
Subject: Data verification for Manhattan College
<SchoolLogo.gif>

Immediate verification of your Manhattan College alumni data is now needed.

Please call 1-866-571-1519 within the next 5 days.
Dear Richard Ferrara,

As a graduate of Manhattan College, I need a quick verification from you. The Alumni Association recently launched a comprehensive alumni data verification project.

We’ve assembled the information currently listed in our alumni files and now need your assistance to confirm the accuracy of this data and to fill in any missing gaps.

Please call 1-866-571-1519 to verify your alumni data now.

Up-to-date alumni information is critical in helping establish current benchmarks for our career placement office, applying for government grants, assembling our alumni directory and determining our ranking in national evaluations.
That’s why it’s so important to call 1-866-571-1519 within the next 5 days.

Your prompt assistance will help us keep this important data verification project on schedule.
Thank you in advance for verifying your Manhattan College alumni data. We sincerely appreciate your assistance.
Sincerely,

Ellen Kiernan
Director of Alumni Relations
*** PLEASE DO NOT REPLY TO THIS EMAIL. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, A CONNECTIONS ASSOCIATE CAN ASSIST YOU AT 1-866-571-1519 THANK YOU ***

Email sent on behalf of Manhattan College Alumni Office by PCI, 4835 LBJ #1100, Dallas, Texas 75244.
To be removed from further e-mails regarding the directory, please click here.

# – # – #

From: Richard Ferrara
Sent: Wednesday, July 23, 2008 2:50 PM
To: John Reinke
Subject: FW: Data verification for Manhattan College

John:

Did you get one of these emails? I don’t know whether it is legit or not and won’t provide personal info over the phone to someone whom I don’t know.

Richard P. Ferrara

# – # – #

From: Jasper FJohn68
Sent: Wednesday, July 23, 2008 6:32 PM
To: ‘Richard Ferrara’
Cc: Walter Matystik; alumni@manhattan.edu; Thomas Mauriello; Ellen Kiernan
Subject: RE: Data verification for Manhattan College {RSVP}
Importance: High

Rich: Got it, and had the SAME concerns. It came in on the “wrong email” for Jasper email. Will copy the powers that be and try to get an answer. fjohn68

Walter, Tom, and / or Ms. Kiernan: Can you verify that this, in fact, an authorized Alumni Activity. With Phishing emails galore on the net, folks are concerned. fjohn68

# – # – #

On Jul 24, 2008, at 11:10 AM, Thomas Mauriello wrote:

It is and it’s for the new alumni directory. Amazingly 1,000 copies have sold since Monday. And they said old fashioned book directories were a thing of the past. Guess I’m not the only throw back in the world.

Cheers,

Thomas Mauriello
Vice President for College Advancement
Manhattan College
4513 Manhattan College Parkway
Riverdale, New York 10471-4098

Phone 718-862-7241
Fax 718-862-8021

# – # – #

From: reinke, ferdinand
Date: July 24, 2008 11:59:06 AM EDT
To: “Thomas Mauriello”
Cc: “‘Richard Ferrara’”, “‘Walter Matystik’” , <alumni@manhattan.edu>, “Ellen Kiernan”
Subject: Re: Data verification for Manhattan College {RSVP}

Tom,

Just out of curiosity, is there to be an online offering? Or is it print only?

I’d have suspected that there would be some announcement preceding the email.

If all you have is a book, it’s easy to be a throwback. :-) And, people, who want the info, have to take it how it is offered. Hobson’s choice. (I wonder how much that ‘throwback’ has cost the College in forgone development opportunities? One will never know.)

Unfortunately, Plaxo, Cardscan, Facebook, MySpace, LinkedIn, and others have demonstrated that the “book” is not the way to consume this type of information. I have an FDU account that knock my socks off. It’s not a book; it one of these new fangled things called a “website”. You may have heard of them. :-) Manhattan has had some in the past.

OK, I’ll shut up now and pass the word that it’s legit.

Fjohn68

# # # # #

[JR: Just noting for the record, the original email was identified as SPAM by Yahoo, Google, and my own service provider 1AND1. So, and it really did visually look "Nigerian" with the text and poor formatting. Added to the fact that it came into me on a 'wrong' email account, the warning bells were going off. Especially since there was no announcement from HQ. If you missed your email, you may want to check your spam folder. I have no idea what the plan is, so you have to look to HQ for further information. My limited knowledge is exposed here at Jasper Jottings; so don't ask me. If you get more information and care to share, I'd be happy to pass it along.]

# # # # #

Categories: JHQ - From Headquarters

1 response so far ↓

  • Ed Crist // August 8, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Different concern:

    I received a phone call tonight (8:00 PM, Friday, interrupted dinner right on time), asking for info for the directory and asking me to pay for it with a credit card.

    I did, but my wife was skeptical, which is why I’m here. Is this on the level as well?

    A prompt answer would be appreciated, it doesn’t take long to clean out the account (debit card).

    Thanks,

    Ed Crist, ‘99

  • Like gas stations in rural Texas after 10 pm, comments are closed.